Mayo, Rebecca
| (404) 720-5308
Mayo, Rebecca

Thank you for supporting
Nurse of the Year Awards - Atlanta

DATE: Saturday, November 4, 2017  |  TIME: 6 p.m.
LOCATION: Grand Hyatt Atlanta - Buckhead
ADDRESS: 3300 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305

For additional information on Nurse of the Year, contact Rebecca Mayo at (404) 720-5308 or [email protected].


Still want to help us?

event description image

Event description

The chefs, volunteers and guests who make up our Signature Chefs Events community are coming together in new, innovative ways to suport moms and babies this year.

We are following state mandated guidelines in response to COVID-19 and will not have an in-person event this year. So, we are preparing an exciting, new Virtual Gala for your 2020 March of Dimes Signature Chefs Auction experience!

We need your help now more than ever. Your support funds:

  • COVID-19 interventions and support for moms and babies
  • Programs that promote health equity for moms and babies and directly combat racial disparities in maternal and child health
  • Free virtual NICU support program for families
  • Virtual prenatal programs for moms-to-be
  • Educational programs, including live Facebook panel discussions, to get info into the hands of moms and families
  • Necessary supplies for expectant mothers including blood pressure cuffs and masks and so much more!

Support the mission

Every year, 15 million babies are born prematurely worldwide, and 1 million will die before their first birthday. Your gift helps the March of Dimes fund research, education, advocacy and programs that help more moms have full-term pregnancies and healthy babies.

Become a sponsor

Every year, 15 million babies are born prematurely worldwide, and 1 million will die before their first birthday. Your gift helps the March of Dimes fund research, education, advocacy and programs that help more moms have full-term pregnancies and healthy babies.

Local Contact Person, Region
[email protected] | Phone #
Contact Us


EVENT IS SOLD OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hundreds of applications across the defined categories ranging from Advanced Practice to NICU are reviewed and scored by high-ranking nurse leaders. Through this competitive process, finalists are then determined. The March of Dimes is proud to announce and honor the 2017 Georgia Nurse of the Year finalists:

Kiana Ayers

Atlanta VA Medical Center
Shaini Moonjeli
Jasmin Woodbine
Nia Simmons-Roland
Lizy Benji
Rena Stewart
Eric Parks
Glenna Etherton
Deniece Kimmons

Cancer Treatment Centers of America
Amani Elghoroury
Shanna Ramsey-Hanes
Mary Claire Dangel-Palmer

Cartersville Medical Center
Debra Arrington
Michelle Anderson

Cherokee County School District
Jami Stefano

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
Ashley Teague
Barbara Hardin
Cheryl McCarthy
Samantha Newsom
Ashley Pierson
Dawn Garn
Jennifer Trapani
Alison Danforth
Debra Laporte
Jill Olney
Amy Painter
Carina Stankiewicz
Christin Durham
Eileen Murray
Eva Bozeman
Jill Olney
Karen Trotochaud
LaKeisha Neely
Laura Jones
Lisa Campbell
Patrycja Mahdavi
Roberta Mitchell
Alison Danforth
Mallory Carroll
Susan Mojcik
Jennifer Pitt
Ligy Jacob
Ann Harber
Leah Shamblin
Alicia Miller
Victoria Mitchell

Columbus Regional Medical Center
Judian McDowell
Amy Werdan
Timothy McCrory
Brooke Mercer
Shequrrior Banks

DeKalb Medical Center
Sarah Kalaf
Sharon Mawby
Ryan Bannan

DeKalb County School District
Doretta Thomas-Fleet
Andrea Mukoko

Emory Healthcare
Doris Wong
Gail Jane Whatley
Autumn Voigt
Jaime Hambrick
Rhonda Freeman
Diane Knoche
Billie Day
Joseph Smith
Lisa Reif
Cara Cannon
Kelly Garrahan
Madeline Mayes
Billie Day
Erin Ferranti
Michelle Styles
Nadine Stewart
Nancy Findley
Janice Withycombe
Jennifer Adamski

Fulton County Schools
Lynne Meadows

Grady Health System
Donita Bowman
Isaac Adu
Joni Waters
Susan Campis
Antonio Washington
Phallon Thomas
Rosalynn Porter
Norma L. Poindexter
Amanda Overton
Helen Nwanor
Brooke Brown
Melanie Browning
Paige Cosgrove
Janet Nduati
Sabine Kuffrey
Susan Pressley
Robin Simmons
Nancy Hutcheson
Sharlene Bowen
Shola Ashi-Dare
Christina Udofia
Karen Seagraves
Melissa Dibben

Gwinett Medical Center
Annamma Alex
Rubina Shah
Tracy Hoffstetter
Ashley Diggs
Tammy Tullis
Teresa Irons

Navicent Health
Denise Lamb
Kevin Cher
Monica Bergman
Courtney Megan Oakes
Deborah Allen
Lawson Shirley
Debora Wright
Kayla Albright

Memorial Health
Cori Meeke

Northside Hospital
Tara Stevens
Barbara Anderson*
Melissa Oakes
Joy Wilson
Katja Bryant
Desiree (Melissa) Murphy
Shahnaz Lakhani
Yva Gauthier
Freda V. Still
Jessi Barnes
Lori Harris
Patty Turpin
Daniella Pulliam
Jennifer Whitfield
Beth Allen
Dayna Vidal
Pamela Russman-Chambers
Patricia Tyson
Quotia “Nikkie” McCallie
Lynn Sharrer
Sandy Gandee
Amy Wiederhold
Kacie Williams
Kerry Martin
Natashia Mack
Nia Griffin
Olivia Cottle
Rachel Yoder
Shearon Stallings
Darlene Nabors
Sulakshana Lnu
Crystal Gray
Kristen Detwiler
Kristen Pinilla
Virginia Rock
Juliana Monteiro
Emily Akins
Katherine Pfeifer
Katie Joyner
Shana Bradley
Crystal Gray
Kimberly Mayfield
Amanda Lummus
Ashley Dean
Brandon Majerus
Tuyet Hurst
Valerie Shortnacy
Sharon Freeman
Cynthia Cox
Michelle Mitchell
Pamela Godfrey
Marcy Stogner

Optum / United Healthcare
Brenda Susan Chastain
Ecua Solomon
Loraine Clue
Mary Sheehan
Christa Fears
RaSharon Townsend-Buah
Prudence Evans
Patricia Gusta
Paulette Leslie
Kaysi Woodard
Rebecca Gallagher
Jamie Perkins
Lisa McIntyre
Venessa McNish

Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital
Tracey Kiesau

Phoebe Sumter Regional
Felicia Finch

Ashley Thrasher
Kristi Goldberg
Anabelle Perrotta
Asegid Argaw
Eyitayo Ajayi
Diane Seals
Marsha Egbert
Erin Jackson
Ashley Kate Amos
Jovette Jonassaint
Michael Jones
Tianna Mashburn
Nataliya Metcalf
Susann Whittle

Tanner Health System
Eric Brandenburg

University of West Georgia – Tanner Health System School of Nursing
Cynthia Brown
Ethel Santiago

Wellstar Health System
Jennifer Tedder
Leydi Pate
Amanda Medlock
Samantha Bragg
Gerald Hobbs
Jackie Torrence
Alison Ulrich
Sheryl Holland
Angela Dietz
Chrisopher Boyd
Marsha Kadner
Rachel Plotzke
Susan Thurman
Kellie Mitchell
Kendra Mathis
Kiera Hanley
Maria Myhand
Debbie Duck


Join us as we celebrate and honor nursing excellence and pay tribute to the tireless efforts of nurses throughout the community while also raising valuable funds for the March of Dimes. Over the course of 10 to 12 weeks, nurses are nominated by colleagues, supervisors or the families they have served. At a culminating awards event, the March of Dimes then celebrates the profession and recognizes the most outstanding nurses in multiple diverse categories.

2017 Georgia Nurse of the Year Awards Gala
Saturday, November 4, 2017 - The Grand Hyatt-Buckhead
3300 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30305
6:00 p.m. EST
*Cocktail Attire



Thanks to the leadership of our volunteer chairs and committee members, we are honored to present Nurse of the Year events. After months of hard work, these volunteers have taken the event to new heights, honoring more nurses than ever before. The March of Dimes and the families we support are grateful for the generosity and effort of the team that made this event possible.

2017 Nurse of the Year Event Chair
Dr. Jenny B. Schuessler, Dean & Professor, Tanner School of Nursing, University of West Georgia

2017 Nurse of the Year Event Co-Chair
Bernadette C. Bellamy, UnitedHealth Group


The March of Dimes celebrates nursing in the most meaningful way, through partnerships with hospitals, health care facilities, organizations, vendors and individuals. Sponsorship opportunities are available at a variety of levels for our Atlanta Nurse of the Year event, providing integration and civic engagement while playing tribute to nurses. We look forward to discussing your partnership with the March of Dimes.

For more information, contact Rebecca Mayo at (404) 720-5308 or [email protected].

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsor